Book Review: Me Before You

Dear Reader.

It’s time for a book review! Quite funny that it actually took this long when this blog was actually supposed to be mainly book stuff… I (Soup) have no idea what happened?

giphy.gif

anyway getting back on track…

So recently I read a book (as if that doesn’t happen often)…

This book made me laugh…

Laughing-Then-Crying-Gif-Tumblr-06.gif

This book made me cry…

cry.gif

This book made me laugh cry…

laugh cry.gif

And most of all this book made me fall in love…

 

love.gif

Alright alright! I’ll get on with the review now.

pull yourself togethe.gif

Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Genre: Contemporary, Realistic Fiction,

Description:

“Lou Clark k15507958.jpgnows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.”

I went into this book completely expecting a idealistic love story about acceptance….Boy was I wrong…

wrong

This book brings together a wonderful story with exceptional writing. From the very first page I was hooked, Louisa Clarke is one of the most lovable and relatable characters that I have ever experienced a book as. She is just real, she’s not perfect and she’s definitely not a magical badass ninja (she totally could be) but she is exactly what this book needed. Along with Will, Nathan and every single character in the story, Me Before You is just beautiful (have I mentioned that enough?)

Aside from the Characters, the pace of this book is also perfect. Nothing was rushed and nothing felt as if it dragged on forever. The romance was always in the background (just how it should be… even for a romance), while it is a big part of the book it was never the driving point and the overall message of the book was never overshadowed.

The only (kind of) negative I would have about this book was the viewpoints. For the main part Louisa was who we saw this book through but there were certain chapters where we would get other character views, and while I am completely open to this I just didn’t feel as if it fit. There were one or two chapters with Nathan (who I love) but I felt as if they were slightly unnecessary.

Overall I believe I have let everyone know that I love this book…

beautiful.gif

But I have some last words for Will…

*Warning!* some people may get offended but it needs to be said…

Will Traynor, you arrogant, selfish, hypocritical, narrow-minded, smooth-talking jerk. F*ck You! I hate you for making me love you and the fact that I will never stop.


So what’d you think? Have you read the book? What did you think?

Should we do a review when the movie comes out in Australia?

We would love to hear what you think so please leave your comments below! (please)…

Until Next Time

Keep the Nerdling Army Strong!

-Tj & Soup

Leave a Reply

