Holiday Reading

Dear reader,
Currently Soup and I (TJ) are on holidays -I am currently typing this on a camping chair in front of our campfire- so I thought why not make a post about holiday reading.
You know those books that you read when your in the mood for an adventure, the kind of books you read on the beach that have sand in between the pages – that’s what the post is on today- the perfect holiday reads.
So without further ado:


1. Inkheart:

image

I’m actually reading this book again right now. It’s the perfect adventure story to read on a chair by the campfire or on the beach (although my copy is quite tattered from doing these things). I don’t know maybe it’s because the first time I read this book I read it on a camping trip with my dad and I then proceeded to read it another 2 times. It’s a book where words come to life has all the perfect things a holiday book needs; adventure, villains, mystery, fantasy and suspense.

image

Synopsis: Meggie loves stories, but her father, Mo, hasn’t read aloud to her since her mother mysteriously disappeared.
When a stranger knocks at their door, Mo is forced to reveal an extraordinary secret – when he reads aloud, words come alive, and dangerous characters step out I the pages.
Suddenly, Meggie is living the kind of adventure she has only read about in books, but this one will change her life forever.
Inkheart is a story within a story, where the imaginary becomes real…
Reading has never been so exciting… Or so dangerous.

peruse shelves


2. The Hobbit:

image

yes I know you’ve probably all been forced to read this for school but it is actually a really good adventure book to read snuggled up with in your sleeping bag. It’s a lot easier to read than the Lord of the Rings books and takes less dedication to get through.

image

Synopsis:Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely traveling any farther than his pantry or cellar. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard Gandalf and a company of dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an adventure. They have launched a plot to raid the treasure hoard guarded by Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon. Bilbo reluctantly joins their quest, unaware that on his journey to the Lonely Mountain he will encounter both a magic ring and a frightening creature known as Gollum.

lets do this


3. Paper Towns:

image

this is the best book to read on a road trip or camping with friends, it’s well written and has funny realistic characters. It’s a teen mystery in one sense but a lighthearted one. This is one of my favourite travelling books.

image

Synopsis:Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life–dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows.

baby reading


4. Anything on wattpad:

image

oh my god this app gives me life. Even though I prefer to read paper this app has so many stories as anyone who wants can upload a story to it. It’s great because once you add a story to your library you don’t need wifi to read it. My recommendation for books on wattpad are: death  seriesis my BFF, 47 days, the bad boy stole my bra, the only girl in the band and Mailboy.

image


5. A handful of time:

image

this story is set on a lake in Canada and is a really great comparison between the past and now. It’s heaps of fun to read and is really interesting. It’s the kind of book you read touring around places with lots of history. It also shows that (to my horror) parents were actually young once to and had interesting and similar experiences to us.

Shocked-animated-Rowan_Atkison-a-shocked-mr-bean

Synopsis:
When Patricia’s mother sends her to her cousins’ cottage for the summer, Patricia doesn’t want to go. She doesn’t know her cousins at all, and she’s never been good at camping or canoeing, let alone making new friends. When she arrives at the cottage, her worst fears come true: her cousin Kelly teases her; Aunt Ginnie and Uncle Doug feel sorry for her. She doesn’t fit in. Then Patricia discovers an old watch hidden under a floorboard. When she winds it, she finds herself taken back in time to the summer when her own mother was twelve.


6. Skulduggery Pleasant:

 

a series on a crime solving skeleton that uses magic and his teenage sidekick, what else do you need in a book?! I love these books, they’re funny and have great plot lines with heaps of suspense. These books can be a bit graphic and violent though, just be warned.

image

Synopsis:Meet Skulduggery Pleasant. Sure, he may lose his head now and again (in fact, he won his current skull in a poker match), but he is much more than he appears to be—which is good, considering that he is, basically, a skeleton. Skulduggery may be long dead, but he is also a mage who dodged the grave so that he could save the world from an ancient evil. But to defeat it, he’ll need the help of a new partner: a not so innocent twelve-year-old girl named Stephanie. That’s right, they’re the heroes.

laughing


7. Amy and Rogers Epic Detour:

image

another road trip story that is both epic and involves a detour.

image

Synopsis: Amy Curry is not looking forward to her summer. Her mother decided to move across the country and now it’s Amy’s responsibility to get their car from California to Connecticut. But since her father died in a car accident, she isn’t ready to get behind the wheel. Enter Roger. An old family friend, he also has to make the cross-country trip. . .and has plenty of baggage of his own. But as they drive, Amy finds that the people you least expected may turn out to be the ones you need the most—and that sometimes you have to get lost in order to find your way home.

tumblr_npw90iPxaS1r71ar2o1_500


Okay that’s all for now -sorry I can’t write anymore smoke is going in my face and my eyes are starting to water-, hope you enjoyed this post.
Are there any books that you associate with going on holidays or that you always read when you’re on holidays?
Let us know in the comments below!
Keep the nerdling army strong!
-TJ&Soup

p.s sorry about the lack of photos I tried to type this post up on my phone and it started having a spaz attack so I’m leaving it till tomorrow for when i have a computer…

2 thoughts on “Holiday Reading

  1. I feel sad when I look at this and see I haven’t read any of these books. I’ve seen The Hobbit movies… Does that count? I also seen Inkheart but my mum said the book wasn’t very good. I like giving things a try, so maybe one day I will.

    Paper Towns. Oh my gosh. I could not get through it. I’m not sure why, maybe it was the style of writing? Not sure… it was a while ago though sooo I may try again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I (TJ) really enjoyed inkheart,the movie left out heaps of the book. Although my fondness for the book may be because when i was little i always wished my favourite characters would come out of a book. As for the hobbit it is actually really good and way easier to read than the lord of the rings trilogy, i think you’d be surprised by how different it is from the movies though. Thanks for your comment 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

