Totally Cliché Teen Movies

Dear Reader

So recently I (TJ) was on Instagram and I saw a post that had a picture of mean girls with the caption ‘when and why did they stop making movies like this?’ and it got me thinking, they’re really aren’t many typical teen movies around anymore. What happened to the Cliché plots? The typical guy meets girl? The revenge pranks? Don’t get me wrong I love the coming of age, meaningful movies that actually show what it’s like to be a teenager now but I also miss the cliche, funny movies that used to be so common. What ever happened to them?

So today I am recommending my favourite Cliché teen movies…the ones that don’t have a hidden meaning and don’t have to particularly teach us anything. Not every movie has to tell a message or mean something it just needs to make us happy and entertain us (after all that’s what they were made for isn’t it?).


1. MEAN GIRLS

meangirlssoundtrack

Of course I had to put this in here, my year pretty much quoted this movie non stop all of year 7 and 8. There are so many quote worthy lines and the movie is laugh out loud funny. It’s fun to watch with friends and never fails to cheer you up (because at least you didn’t get hit by a bus)

 


2. STICK IT

220px-stickit
This is a classic movie about saying f*ck it and standing up for yourself and others. Its funny, sassy and has heaps of great training montages (it’s a sports movie). The main character is kick ass and is pretty much goals as well.


3. IT’S A BOY GIRL THING

boygirlthing_poster
This movie is actually hilarious. Not to mention young Kevin Zieglers is very attractive. The best part about this movie is its not real life the whole plot revolves around something that is impossible. It’s relatable though and definitely reminds me of some of the guys at my school 😂


4. WHIP IT

whip_it_ver3
I only saw this movie recently and it was sooo good. I love Ellen Page and even though this movie isn’t that Cliché I had to put it in. I relate to the main character a little too much… and even though the the main guy was kind of dicky I still love him…( yes I have conflicting emotions and I can’t deal)


5. HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL

open-uri20150422-12561-nk3bll_6c7ca7e2
the greatest movie in anyone who grew up in the 2000’s childhood. Troy and Gabriella were my twelvie OTP. Young Zac Efron singing and shirtless what else could you ask for? It’s a musical about school and teenage drama, it’s pretty damn good.

 


6. FIRED UP

large_w3xh9z7ympp5c1qled5rxospap5
Okay 2 attractive guys being cheerleaders, not only is it hilarious it’s also Cliché but in a different way that I just… There’s so many great quotes and even though the main characters can be dicks I still love them.


7. 10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT YOU10thingsihate
Okay this isn’t actually that Cliché, but it is a classic. I love this movie and it turns out not that many people have actually seen it which makes me sad, so i had to put it on here.

 


8. SHE’S THE MAN

large_aoo3otaojt9g8d60tro8s26mgmj

This movie really let me relate to the opposite sex…Also fun fact, when i wear a bucket hat i look like Eunice.


9. 17 AGAIN

zac-17-again-zac-efron-5012242-1280-1024
Again, young Zac Efron, that’s all you need really…


That’s all for now…

Any cliche teen movies you’d like to recommend from your childhood?

Do you agree with our movies?

Keep the Nerdling Army Strong!

-TJ&Soup

Leave a Reply

